ChangingDad

Making the most of a new life

Blinded by the light

3 Comments

 

The last week has seen me thinking about those relatively small things about parenthood that annoy me, none of which I was aware before having children. So now having thought of them I think I need to get them off my chest. When I made a list I aimed to think of ten, but I fell short at seven (so it cannot be all that bad). However, seven is a good number for a short series over a week. So this week is now ‘rant week’ on ChangingDad.

I think what really got me thinking about these niggly issues was the clocks going forward last weekend. An hour less in bed aside, and that was always a small price to pay for light evenings, the arrival of British Summer Time was always my favourite weekend of the year heralding, as it does, a great deal more daylight at the right time of day. But now I am not so sure. It is a lot easier to get children to bed when it is dark, after all darkness equals bedtime, and light can mean anything but. As a result it has been hard to explain to Sam in particular why he should go to bed when it is still light, he somehow thinks it is morning.

I think that the light evenings also remind me that we cannot go out and do things in the light evenings like we used to, and it is certainly too cold to sit out at home in the evening at the moment (and I am not sure it ever was last year). While the thought of getting one of those patio heaters which pump heat anywhere but on the patio does not appeal.

So the clocks changing reminds me of past times and well as present issues; both of which, once again, come back to that recurring theme of having time to ourselves and the ability to do the things that we like (or liked) doing. For me it is probably the most obvious change about becoming a father; that as parents we have finite time but seemingly much more to fit into it. The light evenings meant that we could do more things away from the house. Having children makes that more difficult since the importance of having a bedtime routine cannot be overstated, and so being able to do things then means having babysitters on a regular basis. This is something which I do not think is totally fair on the boys who are clearly more comfortable with having one or both of us in the house when they go to bed.

I understand that some people find the winter months very difficult when there is not much daylight, and on balance I much prefer the summer months. Nevertheless, it is not as clear cut as it used to be and this time of year is definitely one of more mixed emotions than it used to be. That is, for me, one of the consequences of parenthood, and not one that I had particularly anticipated.

I wonder whether this is the same for other parents? Or is it just me?

3 thoughts on “Blinded by the light

  1. I’m similar to you – and I suspect we’re far from being the only ones. Longer evenings are great in principle, less so in practice – as you say, we end up with more opportunities lost rather than opportunities gained

    . It seems to be the same for us each year now. We get a couple of lovely days when our boys wake up at 6:30-7 rather than 5:30-6, but they quickly adjust to the time difference and it’s just a little bit more of a battle to get them down in the evening, at least for a couple of weeks. As for our 11-month-old daughter, she’s evern more confused. Thank God for blackout blinds!

    • Thanks Tim. One thing I cannot complain about is getting up times since both boys tend to sleep until after 7 (going to bed about 8pm). Last year I remember that the youngest used to wake a bit earlier when the light came but so far so good this year.

  2. Pingback: What’s eating me today? | ChangingDad

Leave a Reply

